Catholic Theological Union Learn@CTUCatholics on CallCatholic Common Ground Initiative
Follow CTU on Facebook
CTU Twitter feed
CTU on LinkedIn

Board of Trustees Directory

CTU's Board of Trustees and Life Trustees

The Board of Trustees governs the fiscal, educational, and administrative affairs of Catholic Theological Union. It is composed of 24 Trustees from the religious communities sponsoring CTU and 21 at-large Trustees who hold leadership roles in business, education, and civic life.




Kurt F. Hartrich, OFM
Order of Friars Minor
Sacred Heart Province
Chicago, IL
Miguel Alvarez, cs
Missionaries of St. Charles (Scalabrinians)
Province of St. John the Baptist
Oak Park, IL
Paul J. Bernier, SSS 
Congregation of the Blessed Sacrament
Province of St. Ann
Cleveland, OH
Ann Kenny Carr
Chicago, IL
Joseph Cheah, OSM
Order of Friar Servants of Mary (Servites)
USA Province
Chicago, IL
Judith Chiarelli
Argonne National Laboratory
Chicago, IL
Dennis Chriszt, CPPS
Missionaries of the Precious Blood
Cincinnati Province
Dayton, OH
William Cieslak, OFM Capuchin
Capuchin Franciscan Friars
St. Joseph Province
Chicago, IL
John R. Conley, CP
Congregation of the Passion
Holy Cross Province
Park Ridge, IL
Mary Margaret Cowhey
Land & Lakes Company
Rosemont, IL
Gregory Darr (Maryknoll Rep.)
Maryknoll Fathers and Brothers
U.S. Foundation
Chicago, IL
Angela B. Dinger
William H. Sadlier, Inc.
New York, NY
David Donnay, osc 
Cannons Regular of the Order of the Holy Cross
(Crosier Fathers and Brothers)
Province of St. Odilia
Phoenix, AZ
Gerald F. Fitzgerald, Jr.
Cornerstone Bancorp, Inc.
Palatine, IL
Maureen Fitzpatrick (Columban Rep.)
Society of St. Columban
United States Region
St. Columbans, NE
Mark R. Francis, CSV, ex officio
Catholic Theological Union
Chicago, IL
James R. Halstead, OSA
Order of St. Augustine (Augustinians)
Our Mother of Good Counsel Province
Chicago, IL
J. Michael Heaton 
O’Keefe Lyons & Hynes, LLC
Chicago, IL
James B. Herring, O Praem
Canons Regular of Premontre (Norbertines)
St. Norbert Abbey
De Pere, WI
Daniel Lydon, CSV
Clerics of St. Viator (Viatorians)
Province of the United States
Arlington Heights, IL
Mark Marangone, sx
Xaverian Missionaries
USA Province
Franklin, WI
Mary Meg McCarthy
Heartland Alliance National Immigrant
    Justice Center
Chicago, IL
William J. McNally
Chicago, IL
Michael Miller, MSC
Missionaries of the Sacred Heart
United States Province
Aurora, IL
John Molyneux, CMF
Claretian Missionaries
Eastern Province
Chicago, IL
David M. Murdoch 
Wilmette, IL
Joseph Thong Ngo, CSsR
Congregation of the Most Holy Redeemer 
Denver Province
Denver, CO
John D. Oliverio 
Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare
Glendale, WI
Lac D. Pham, CPPS
Missionaries of the Precious Blood
Kansas City Province
Liberty, MO
Christopher Promis, CSSp
Congregation of the Holy Spirit (Spiritans)
Province of the United States
Chicago, IL
Mary Ann Rowan
Higher Education Consultant
Chicago, IL
Michael J. Stephan
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Michael Surufka, OFM
Order of Friars Minor (Franciscans)
Assumption BVM Province
St. Francis, WI
Thomas L. Taylor
Glenview, IL
Francis S. Tebbe, OFM
Order of Friars Minor (Franciscans)
St. John the Baptist Province
Cincinnati, OH
Richard H. Tilghman
Glenview, IL
Nhan Tran, SVD
Society of the Divine Word
Chicago Province
Techny, IL
Edward R. Udovic, CM (At-large Member)
DePaul University
Chicago, IL
Patrick J. Unzicker
DeVry Education Group
Downers Grove, IL
Paul Wierichs, CP
Congregation of the Passion
St. Paul of the Cross Province
New Rochelle, NY
Joan S. Wrenn
Hudson Precision Products
Chicago, IL


CTU’s Life Trustees

Robert L. Berner, Jr.
Baker & McKenzie
Chicago, IL
Thomas J. Boodell, Jr.
Boodell & Domanskis, LLC
Chicago, IL
Donna M. Carroll
Dominican University
River Forest, IL
Rev. Theodore Cirone, C.M.F.
Claretian Missionaries
Chicago, IL
Eleanor O. Clarke 
Lake Forest, IL
Richard DeGraff
Lisle, IL
James M. Denny
Two Rivers LLC
Chicago, IL
Rev. Michael Doyle, O.S.M.
Order of Friars Servants of Mary
Chicago, IL
Daniel J. Foley
RBC Dain Rauscher
Chicago, IL
Teresita Gonzales-Lowry
Chicago Youth Centers
Chicago, IL
James Haugh
Burr Ridge, IL
John B. Higgins 
Higgins Associates, LLC (retired)
Northbrook, IL
Sr. Kathleen Hughes, R.S.C.J.
Society of the Sacred Heart
St. Louis, MO
William Lawlor, III
Kenilworth, IL
Rev. Sebastian MacDonald, C.P.
Congregation of the Passion
Holy Cross Province
Chicago, IL
Anthony Mandolini
Glenview, IL
Richard J. Meister
DePaul University (retired)
Oak Park, IL
Rev. James E. Michaletz, C.S.V.
Clerics of St. Viator
Arlington Heights, IL
Michael E. Murphy
Chicago, IL
Daniel R. Murray
Jenner & Block, LLC
Chicago, IL
Joan F. Neal
Cabrini College
Radnor, PA
Thomas M. Owens
The Owens Foundation
Palos Heights, IL
Carolyn Noonan Parmer 
Winnetka, IL
Rev. Thomas P. Reynolds, S.S.C.
Missionary Society of St. Columban
Los Angeles, CA
Sr. Katarina Schuth, O.S.F.
St. Paul Seminary
University of St. Thomas
St. Paul, MN
Rev. Donald Senior, C.P.
President Emeritus
Catholic Theological Union
Chicago, IL
Rev. Michael J. Slattery, O.S.A.
Order of St. Augustine
Chicago, IL
Edmund A. Stephan, Jr.
Lincolnshire, IL
Marjorie Stephan
Wilmette, IL
Barry Sullivan
Cooney & Conway Chair in Advocacy and Professor of Law
Loyola University
Chicago, IL
Fidelis N. Umeh 
Versay Solutions, LLC
Deerfield, IL
Mary-Frances Veeck
Chicago, IL